Psychonauts 2: How to Restart Your Save File

This is instructions for how to restart your Psychonauts 2 save file. There’s no in-game button for resetting the game so you can replay it, so it’s a little tricky. This is a rough guide, so the information might not be complete in some places.

 

Step 1: Disable Steam Cloud
In order to do this, you must right click on Psychonauts 2 in the Games menu, and click Properties. From inside Properties, you will see a button with a checkmark labeled “Keep game saves in the Steam Cloud for Psychonauts 2”. Uncheck this button, so that the Steam Cloud doesn’t automatically preserve and restore your old saves.

Step 2: Find your Save Data
The location of your Psychonauts 2 Save Data varies between operating systems, and I don’t know where it’ll be for non-Windows systems (sorry), but it’s stored in “%localappdata%\Psychonauts2\Saved\SaveGames” for Windows, and you’ll need to know where it is in order to clear it.

Step 3: Clear Your Save Data
While inside your Save Data folder, you should see a bunch of files with “.sav” inside of it. Delete all of the programs with “.sav” file extensions (from my experience, it’s fine to leave the “steam_autocloud.vdf” file though)

Step 4: Play the Game
If the above steps were successful, when you load Psychonauts 2, it should play the intro cutscene again, and after that, have a button for “New Game” instead of “Resume Game”. After you’ve loaded in, and can walk around, the game should automatically make a save. Once it makes it’s automatic save, you can reenable Steam Cloud if you want, and it won’t overwrite your new game with the old one.

Thanks to blazoblaster for his great guide, all credit to his effort. you can also read the original guide from Steam Community. enjoy the game.

Related Posts:

Post Author: Robins Chew

1 thought on “Psychonauts 2: How to Restart Your Save File

    ReverendTed

    (September 3, 2021 - 2:58 pm)

    This isn’t needed, as there is an in-game method for resetting your save game.
    On the Main Menu, there is a “Select Save Slot” prompt in the lower right.
    After selecting a save slot containing save data, there is an option on the lower left to Reset the slot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *