STAR WARS™ Battlefront™ II: Beginner’s Guide

This is a beginner’s guide for Star Wars: Battlefront 2



Due to how long this guide is going to be, it’s still a work-in-progress. I will update the guide with more info over time. I’m currently working on Star Cards.


This is a guide for people that need help getting into Battlefront 2. I know many people are starting to get it on Epic Games, but unfortunately there isn’t a guide system on there. If you have friends that need help with Battlefront 2, then you can give them this guide to get started with that game.

Battlefront 2 is a class-oriented shooter, meaning you can choose between different classes and vehicles to spawn as. This is very important for the rest of the guide. There are 4 types of classes:

  • Troops, consisting of: Assault, Heavy, Officer, Specialist
  • Elite troops, consisting of: Enforcer, Aerial, Infiltrator
  • Vehicles, consisting of: Armor, Speeder, Artillery
  • Heroes, consisting of: Blaster heroes, Lightsaber heroes, Droid heroes

I will go in-depth explaining what each class is capable of later down the line.

An introduction to all modes.

This game contains a lot of different gamemodes, meaning there’s a lot of room for error. Picking the right gamemode to start of your battlefront 2 journey is crucial to your enjoyment. This is why I will list all of the gamemodes, then tell you what you should do to get started.


The different Eras of Battlefront 2 set the maps, heroes and troops you can use. If you are a star wars buff, the three different eras are the Republic (prequels), Rebellion (original trilogy) and Resistance (sequels). If you do not know what those are, I will have a list containing all playable characters according to their eras later down the line.

A big thing to know about Battlefront 2 is that the elite troops (Enforcer, Aerial, Infiltrator) have different names according to the eras, the side you’re on, and (sometimes) the maps. For example, in the age of the republic, if you are playing as the separatist alliance, enforcers are called “Droidekas”, whilst in the age of the Resistance, while in the side of the Resistance they are called “Ovissian Gunners”.


Supremacy is one of the most iconic Battlefront 2 modes. You battle on a series large-scale maps ranging from 16 to 40 players in total. Don’t worry, there will also be bots to help make the battles more vivid. Here you can use all types of classes, ranging from aerial artillery to lighsaber heroes, to common troops. There are 2 phases to this gamemode. The first would be a common battlefield, both sides having bases located on them, or in the sky, whilst the second phase happens inside of your/the enemy’s base. If you win, you move on to the enemy’s base, if you lose, they move to yours. The first to reach 2 consecutive battles won, will win the match as a whole.


Heroes and Villains has 3 different sub-modes. The character selection isn’t era-specific, meaning heroes aren’t exclusive to some maps:


In Hero Starfighters, you get to control an iconic star wars starfighter, such as Han Solo’s Millenium Falcon, or Boba Fett’s Slave I. It’s a team-based 4v4 elimination gamemode where the last team standing wins.


Much like Hero Starfighters, Heroes vs Villains is a 4v4 gamemode, but, unlike starfighters, it features boots-on-the-ground combat, and kill objective. The first team to deplete the other team’s reinforcement count wins.


Hero showdown is a 2v2 last team standing gamemode. Unlike the other modes, hero showdown locks heroes you’ve already played as, meaning if you win, the hero you played as during that round will be unavailable moving forward for the game.


The rest of the modes I shall explain in in one text, as there are 5 of them, all closely resembling some of the other modes I talked about, except for one of them.

Galactic assault: Same principle as supremacy, only you don’t need two wins in a row, just the one.

Starfighter assault: Fight in space or in the sky, only it has the same multi-stage principle as supremacy.

Blast: 8v8, fast-paced close quarters team deathmatch.

Strike/Extraction: 8v8, objective-based battles.

Ewok hunt: In this mode, player-controlled Ewoks are trying eliminate a team of Imperial Stormtroopers before their extraction shuttle arrives. The mode begins with two players as Ewoks, and the rest as Stormtroopers. As Stormtroopers are eliminated, they will respawn as Ewoks, slowly increasing the odds of winning in their favor.

Ewoks have access to three unique abilities:

  • A throwable pouch that bursts into a swarm of fairy-like wisties (small winged creatures that can increase their body temperature) that follow and deal damage over time to nearby Stormtroopers.
  • A horn that, when sounded, increases all damage dealt by the player for a short duration, but causes very audible noise. It used to leave the player immobile until the animation has finished.
  • “Hunter’s Instincts”, that highlights nearby Stormtroopers as bright silhouettes (even through surfaces) and also highlights their footprints.

Coop modes all have the same principle; capture one or defend all control points (typically, there are 2, but there can be 3 or 1) to move on to the next control points. There is a total of 4 phases to this mode, all happening on the same map. The only choice you need to make is what side and era do you want to fight in. You can either play as any, or choose a specific one to your liking.


Singleplayer has 3 different modes: Campaign, Instant Action, Arcade.

It’s incredibly simple to explain those, so here you go:
– Campaign: The story mode of battlefront 2. There are 2 campaigns, the main story and resurrection, a short follow-up to the main story.
– Instant Action: PvE mode to train your supremacy and galactic assault skills.
– Arcade: A training ground to introduce yourself and get familiar with all heroes and villains.

That’s all for the gamemodes!

An introduction to all classes.

Due to how long this can take, I’ll only introduce every TYPE of hero you can play, and put them under different categories.


Assault: Assault blasters, designed for recon and close to mid-range.
Heavy: LMGs, designed for and close to mid-range.
Officer: Light pistol, designed for support and close-range.
Specialist: Sniper, designed for long-range battles.


Elite troops change abilities, loadouts and names depending on the era.

Enforcers: Overall great at area control and clearing rooms full of enemies. Their abilities are always grenades, overload, and fortify. (Overload: Prevents heat build-up, meaning no need to reload for a long time. Fortify: Boosts player’s health)
Aerial: High mobility, always has jetpack. Their abilities are always: Rocket launchers, Jetpack Boost and Jetpack dash. (Boost: Boost upwards. basically a super jump. Dash: Dash forwards, backwards or sideways at long distances to surprise your enemy.) All aerial troopers also can dodge using their jetpack, meaning they can shoot while evading.


I will organize heroes in four categories. Offense, Defense, Support, and Hybrid.

Offense: Anakin Skywalker, Darth Maul, Count Dooku, Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, Rey “Skywalker”

Defense: Obi-Wan Kenobi, Chewbacca, Lando Calrissian, Iden Versio, Bossk

Support: Yoda, Leia Organa, Emperor Palpatine, Finn, BB-8, BB-9E

Hybrid: General Grievous, Han Solo, Boba Fett, Kylo Ren, Captain Phasma

Lighsaber heroes: Anakin Skywalker, Darth Maul, Count Dooku, Luke Skywalker, Darth Vader, Rey “Skywalker”, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Yoda, General Grievous, Kylo Ren.
Blaster heroes: Chewbacca, Lando Calrissian, Iden Versio, Bossk, Leia Organa, Finn, Han Solo, Boba Fett, Captain Phasma.
Other: Emperor Palpatine (shoots lightning out of his hands)

Keep in mind: This is from my own experience. Your experience may vary.

Related Posts:

Post Author: Robins Chew

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *